top of page
  • Writer's pictureBookstore1Sarasota

Fantasy Fiction: Visit a Land of Magic



"Do not meddle in the affairs of Wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger."

~J. R. R. Tolkien~


Fantasy fiction keeps growing in popularity. Rebecca Yarros’ Fourth Wing took us by surprise when it flew out the door, but there have been other great fantastical stories that have recently arrived on our shelves. These seven novels will take you on a trip to lands of gods, monsters, werewolves and more.


From award-winning author R. F. Kuang comes Babel, a fantastical takedown of 19th-century imperialism that grapples with student revolutions, colonial resistance, and the use of language and translation as the dominating tool of the British empire.





Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

Enter the brutal and elite world of a war college for dragon riders from bestselling author Rebecca Yarros. Everyone at Basgiath War College has an agenda—because once you enter, there are only two ways out: graduate or die.






The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

Set in modern day UK, The Book Eaters is a dark and fantastical story about a family who literally consume books for sustenance and the lengths one woman will go to in order to protect her son.







Wolfsong TJ Klune

The first standalone book in mega-bestselling author TJ Klune's beloved Green Creek series, which follows a pack of secret werewolves and other shifters in a small town.







Godkiller by Hannah Kaner

Enter a land of gods and monsters, soldiers and mercenaries, secrets and wishes--the explosive #1 internationally bestselling fantasy debut in a new trilogy for fans of The Witcher and Gideon the Ninth.







Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

"One of the year's strongest fantasy novels" (NPR), an imaginative retelling of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale from the bestselling author of Uprooted.







Thistlefoot by GennaRose Nethercott

An enchanted adventure illuminated by Jewish myth and adorned with lyrical prose as tantalizing and sweet as briar berries, Thistlefoot is an immersive modern fantasy saga by a bold new talent.


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page