top of page
  • Writer's pictureBookstore1Sarasota

It's Book Award Season!

It’s time for literary prizes and awards. The Nobel Prize for Literature, the Kirkus Prize and the Pulitzer Prize have been awarded, and the Booker Prize and National Book Award are coming up. Here are the winners and finalists for the fiction awards. The Kirkus Award also includes the winner for non-fiction and young adult literature. Award winners are great books to add to your reading list.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 was awarded to the Norwegian author Jon Fosse "for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.” His immense oeuvre written in Norwegian Nynorsk and spanning a variety of genres consists of a wealth of plays, novels, poetry collections, essays, children’s books and translations.

The Pulitzer Prize for distinguished fiction is for work published during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life. This year's prize was awarded to two authors, Hernan Diaz and Barbara Kingsolver.

The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature. This year's prize winners were James McBride for fiction, Héctor Tobar for non-fiction, and Ariel Aberg-Riger for young reader's literature.

The 2023 Booker Prize shortlist features six books by authors never previously shortlisted, including two debuts.

Winner announced on November 26, 2023.

The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.

Winner announced on November 15.

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page